Meet the 2012-13 Committee

Meet the 2012-13 Committee

12 September 2012

The new MATA Committee had their first meeting after the AGM, on the 11th September 2012.
At this meeting Mareletta van Zyl-Wohlfarter was re-elected as Chairman with Petrus Jansen appointed Vice Chairman.

The goals of the steering committee for the coming year will be to continue fostering a collaborative working relationship with all the other role-playing organisations in the community. The past year, for instance, saw the launch of a joint initiative between the Tourism Association and the Breede River Rotary Club: The "Grow" Skills Development Project. The Tourism Association would like to thank the Cape Winelands District Municipality in particular for coming on board and assisting this project with a financial contribution.

As mentioned in the latest Tourism Column in Langeberg Montagu Mail - “A successful Tourism industry in based on Visitor satisfaction!”- the committee will focus on gathering much needed Visitor information and analyzing and utilizing this information to ensure visitor satisfaction.

Social media is fast becoming a more and more powerful tool and all possibilities to maximize this medium will be explored too.
The past six months has seen very good media coverage for Montagu, and the greater Langeberg – the committee intends to focus on more media coverage for our region, towns and members.
A big” Electronic Media Cleanup” is on the cards also – the tourism office will work through all website listings and internet coverage of our town and region to ensure correct and updated information on the web.

"Apart from rolling up our sleeves and doing some hard work, there is also more than enough opportunity for PARTY time. We invite all of the Langeberg to join in the fun and to celebrate great festivals, heritage and everything that makes Montagu-Ashton and the Langeberg so GREAT!", says Mareletta.

IN THE PHOTO (from L to R):

Petrus Jansen, Ronel Preston, Mareletta van Zyl-Wohlfarter, Fida Hess, Nelda Wiese, JP Viljoe, Kathy Sutherland, Gert Lubbe and Marilyn Ball